Word Wednesday

It’s Word Wednesday!

Hello friends!

I’ve decided to try a new thing, and I’m calling it word Wednesday because, well, I’ve never been that good at titles. Anyway, basically the way it’s going to work is that every Wednesday I’m going to be making a post about a word that I have recently learned. This post will, of course, include the definition, as well as little bit about where I learned the word and why I like it etc. And now, without further ado, here is the first word!

(All definitions will be taken from the Merriam-Webster dictionary)

nabob: a noun meaning “a very rich or important person.”

Where did I learn this word? From reading The Count of Monte Cristo. During the course of the novel several people upon first becoming accounted with the count speculate that he is some kind of nabob.

Why do I like it? Well, just say it, go ahead, give it a try… It was fun right? I also like that it means someone is rich and important, both apparently good thing, but that it totally sounds like an insult. For example, “Did you meet Susie last night? She is such a nabob!” See, it sounds like an insult right?! Okay, maybe it’s just me who thinks it’s funny.

Have I ever used this word? I did “use it” in a word game I was playing with my brothers during a longish car trip about a week ago, but it wasn’t in context so I guess it didn’t really count.

Aaaand, that’s the end of my first Word Wednesday! I hope you liked it and learned something new!

Leave a Reply

